Nugatory or Non-Nugatory

I am posting another collage of sketches from a fashion sketch night a week ago and realized how much fashion sketches I have been posting on my blog. And I am not a fashion designer or aspiring fashion designer or illustrator (although I was aspiring one many years ago)! It makes me wonder if all these are nugatory sketches; nugatory attendance to these fashion sketch nights at the Society of Illustrators. On the other hand, I also find it non-nugatory (can I use the word that way?) since it is another way to hone my drawing/sketching skills from observation.

Ah! Finally a new word I learned today from dictionary.com! I haven’t posted those in a while!

nugatory [noo-guh-tawr-ee, -tohr-ee, nyoo-]
adjective
1. of no real value; trifling; worthless.
2. of no force or effect; ineffective; futile; vain.
3. not valid.

Word Origin

1595-1605; < Latin nūgātōrius worthless, useless, trifling, equivalent to nūgā(rī) to trifle + –tōrius -tory


Example:

Therefore all art which involves no reference to man is inferior or nugatory.
Modern Painters, Volume V (of 5) John Ruskin

Leave a Reply

