xanthic

This word sounds like it can be a pharmaceutical drug.

The sketch on the right is based of the last sentence of the quote which might not have anything to do with the word itself!
Funny enough, the lady whom I drew from the flight back to NYC from Rio was also dressed in xanthic form.


xanthic \ZAN-thik\ , adjective:
1. of or pertaining to a yellow or yellowish color.
2. Chemistry. of or derived from xanthine or xanthic acid.

Quote:I’d seen it, this time, from the end of my row, xanthic, luminous. I stood above it, my hands on my hips like an outraged housewife confronted with an unexpected mess.
— Erica Wagner, Gravity, 1997

Origin:

Xanthic entered English in the 1800s from the Greek term xanthos meaning “yellow.”
Leave a Reply

