horripilate

This happened to me today on my way to work. A large lump of snow fell on my head causing my entire body to horriplate. It made much of the stuff I was carrying wet including 2 of my friend’s Christmas presents!


horripilate \ haw-RIP-uh-leyt \ , verb;

1.To produce a bristling of the hair on the skin from cold, fear, etc.; goose flesh.

Quotes:
And he screamed it out as he lay against her breast, making her forget all about what might or might not be happening up in the Jefferson Tract, freezing her scalp to her skull and making her skin crawl and horripilate.
— Stephen King, Dreamcatcher: a novel

Origin:
Horripilate is a compound of two Latin roots, horri– ,”to bristle,” and pil– , “of hair.”

Leave a Reply

