debonair?

When I think of ‘debonair’, I think of Sean Connery or all the actors who have played James Bond in films, I guess that includes Sean Connery as well! I didn’t have a reference of him so I sketched this instead.

I was walking down Kenmare and Lafayette St and saw these 3 gentlemen across the street where I was standing who looked like they can be debonairs. I only sketched one of them, who actually didn’t look like this one sketched here but that’s where the idea came from.

debonair \ deb-uh-NAIR \ , adjective;

1. Courteous, gracious, and having a sophisticated charm.
2. Jaunty; carefree; sprightly.

Quote:
His public image is dashing and debonair, the natural pop star with a beautiful woman on his arm.
— Neil McCormick, “Bryan Ferry: a shrinking violetnot a lounge lizard,” Telegraph.co.uk, October, 2010

Origin:
Debonair is an alteration of the French phrase de bonaire, “of good lineage.”
Leave a Reply

