roborant

This word appeared in last year’s dictionary word of the day. I did a sketch of this word last year and kept it in my sketchbook. I tried to redo the sketch but I think I preferred last year’s sketch for it’s silliness.

roborant \ ROB-uh-ruhnt \ , adjective, noun;

1. Strengthening; restoring vigor.

noun:
1. A strengthening medicine; a tonic; a restorative.
Quote:
That day, I felt the need of a roborant after my ghost-ridden night, and I swigged down two doses.
— William Least Heat Moon, River Horse

Origin:
Roborant derives from the present participle of Latin roborare, “to strengthen,” from robur, roboris, “strength.”

Leave a Reply

